MFC Board Elections

Michelle Augustyn

Kelly Cantway

Angie Cherrette

Zosia Eppensteiner

Andrew Gale

Richard Kochis

Michelle Augustyn (incumbent)

I have been a Marquette resident and MFC member for almost ten years. I am currently the Board Secretary and am so grateful to have the opportunity to run for a second term, as being on the Board has truly been an honor. The Marquette Food Co-op has been a cornerstone of personal growth for me — from supporting local farmers to mingling with my fellow citizens, the Co-op represents a place that epitomizes the ideals of people coming together to build something they believe in.

What motivated you to run for a position on the board of directors?

I originally ran for the Board on a suggestion from a friend! I was so pleased to be elected for my first term, and it was (and still is) quite the learning experience. For my second term, my motivation for running is different. I am very dedicated to upholding the principles that our community-owned grocery store is founded on. I believe that our business model is a healthy counter-balance to the majority of businesses in our country. I have found it to be an amazing honor to represent all the owners of this business and would love to continue this role.

Have you ever served on the board before? If so, what type of board, and how would you describe your experience?

I am currently serving my first term on the Board of the Marquette Food Co-op. My experience has been a lot of learning, an exercise in listening with an open mind, and a struggle to find the ideas that will help to open the doors of communication within the board and with our members. I am in awe of the people that make up the members, employees, management, and board that make this business the success that it is.

Have you done any work or contributed in some way to our Co-op or any other co-op in the past? If so, please describe.