fbpx

STORE OPEN 9AM-9PM
CO-OP GROCERY PICK-UP AVAILABLE 10AM-7PM
AT-RISK SHOPPING HOURS--8-9AM

502 W. Washington St. Marquette, MI

Meet the 2021 Candidates

MFC Board Elections

Brian Bouton

Greetings, my name is Brian Bouton, and I am interested in serving the community by joining the Marquette Food Co-op Board. My family recently moved here from NYC, where we were members of the Park Slope Co-op and supporters of its mission to make organic, local and wholesome food available to all members of the community. My wife, a Marquette native, and her family have been members of the MFC since its inception, and I immediately fell in love with the close community found within its walls when I first visited six years ago. I’m a veteran, a former high school teacher, and I currently teach at CUNY’s School of Professional Studies. I also work for my wife’s company supporting UNICEF offices and initiatives around the world, including ending food insecurity, and this is a problem in our own community which concerns me. The current MFC has strong leadership, wonderful people working at every level, and a passionate membership base, so I if I was chosen, I would help maintain the quality we’ve come to expect and support any initiatives that make organic, local and wholesome foods available to as many UP residents as possible.

What motivated you to run for a position on the board of directors?

I would like to serve the community, and I am passionate about supporting wholesome food, local farmers and ending food insecurity. As a father with two young children, it hurts to imagine my kids or any kids going to bed hungry or not having the nutrition they need.

Have you ever served on a board before? If so, what type of board, and how would you describe your experience?

No, I’ve never served on a Board. I’ve served on a number of board-type committees as a secondary school teacher.